Im new to tube amps, i recently bought a peavy valve king 212 100 watt tube combo, and im unsure of what impedance i should use, there are 3 available 4,8, and 16. I cant seem to find the factory settings? I read from the peavy website that the speakers are 16 ohms each, so im not really sure what to do?

bottom line? what impedance should i use 8 or 16? confused any help would be greatly appreciated

thnx!
If the speakers are wired parallel, you'd want to use 4 or 8 ohms.

Also, dig the screen name. Electric Wizard is teh
I would have to go find my manual but I believe the ohm settings on the 212 (like the 100 head) are for the cab out options only. Unless you plan to hook this up to a seperate speaker cab - i don't think you need to worry about it. I would set it at 16 for now anyway.

You can also ask in the Valveking thread as there are some 212 owners in there and IbanezPsycho is pretty good with this stuff. That link is in my sig.
Last edited by 311ZOSOVHJH at Oct 1, 2008,
Gooley is right, use 8 ohms.

Two speaker inputs are in parallel.

If I were you, I'd take a multimeter and measure the impedance of the speakers yourself first though.
Quote by 311ZOSOVHJH
I would have to go find my manual but I believe the ohm settings on the 212 (like the 100 head) are for the cab out options only. Unless you plan to hook this up to a seperate speaker cab - i don't think you need to worry it. I would set it at 16 for now anyway.

You also ask in the Valveking thread as there are some 212 owners in there and IbanezPsycho is pretty good with this stuff. That link is in my sig.

2 sixteen ohm speakers in parallel is 8 ohms. running a 16 ohm amp into a 8 ohm cab (or any resistor) = bad.

If it's wired series, it'd be 32 ohms.

Either way, 4 or 8 ohms is safe.
Awsome thnx dude u haev put my mind at ease! i think 8 ohms is right, i just wanted some others imput on it! thnx alot!
Now that I've helped you, how bout some clipz?

Funeropolis riff?