It is my first year in college and i am taking a Guitar class just for fun and to learn more about classical guitar music. My teacher said that to do fine in the class we must know our strumming patterns, fingerpicking patterns, and the 15 basic chords

I mostly play metal and rock, so i only know the 15 basic chords. I never really strum. I have strummed some songs but i just make up my own "strum patterns." I also make up my own fingerpicking patterns.

Well my question is are there really any general strum and fingerpicking patterns that ALL guitarists should know? I really just strum away and be creative with it and it sounds good. Pretty much the only fingerpicking songs i know are Nothing Else Matters, To Live Is To Die (Interlude), Tears in Heaven, and More Than Words.

I don't want to enter the class not knowing my strums
There are a lot of strumming patterns. There is DDDD, DUDU, DDUD, and all sorts of strumming patterns. Wonderwall uses a rather simple one, same with Horse With No Name. Pratically anything can be a strumming pattern, and I wouldn't say you need to "Know your strums" because I'm not sure what the professor has in store for you. Strumming patterns are learned rather quickly though and shouldn't be much of a hassle for you.
Guitars Owned: Yamaha F335
The guy above me is right, and about the fingerpicking patterns, i dont really know much about that, but as long as you can fingerpick fairly well it shouldn't be that much of a problem. The 15 basic chords would seem like the most important thing to me, and you've apparently got that down, so i don't think you need to worry too much.
I think it's time for a change.

Sig v5.0 (approximate)
Yeah, the chords probably takes the most practice. Chord switching is probably good to practice. Maybe do some basic strumming, ya know, getting used to ups and downs. I'd say some good practice would be Wonderwall or something simple. Just get your hand used to doing ups and downs across the strings.