Well, I'm a self-taught guitar player.. which causes me to run into problems every now and then.

Currently, I have no idea how to advance myself as a guitar player. I've never really had a teacher, so I'm lost at the moment.

I can play and switch chords easily, play barre chords, any songs really. (Except those insane classical ones. xD )

I have no idea how to advance myself from here, what should i learn?

Playing songs usually makes me better at playing that song.. but i want to practice things that make me an all around better guitarist.

Any ideas / suggestions?
.Truth.
Well personally I've found that consciously thinking of patterns of notes that will accomplish the sound you want whilst still maintaining a decent level of speed while I just play guitar. And though I'm very light on my music theory I still think of different ways to play chords to get different emotions across, though I usually don't know the names of the chords I make, and the more I think about these things the better I get at them, which overall helps me as a guitarist in my opinion.
I dunno, I'm no expert at guitar either, but I'd like to think I'm not behind for my playing time.
do you know your theory? if not, it'll help considerably (i know, i'm self-taught too). if you know your theory i'd suggest trying new techniques a lot of the time. work on picking speed and different styles of picking. open up to new ways of playing what you already know. try playing something you know you can't play and slowly work at it until you can. you have no idea how much you will learn doing stuff like that.