Does anybody know of any good legato exercises to start with? I'm not that good at it yet. For example this one is slightly too hard:

Quote by razorback91
Im sorry, I just don't see how you could argue that hardcore isn't metal. That just seems arrogant to me.

Yes, its its own kind of metal, but its still metal.
Well a good place to start is trilling. Get the metronome out and practice each set of fingers for about a minute to begin with. Its important that you get your fingers up to a point where they are not tense and you are keeping time but with effort. You will feel your fingers getting tired this way. Tensing up doesnt help, and trying to play too fast doesnt help. Focus on each set of fingers ie. 1 2, 1 3 , 1 4, 2 3, 2 4, 3 4

Next excercises. Practice these 2 patterns on your high e string.. 12 9 10 12 10 9 and 12 9 11 12 11 9. Use fingers 1,2 and 4 and 1, 3 and 4 respectively. Again get these at a good speed where you are concentrating but not to the point where you ae tense or unable to keep time. Keep pushing these speeds. Work your hand hard but not too hard. I suggest doing both of these exercises for 10 minutes each. These should have your left hand gaining speed and confidence in no time with a bit of work. When you are comfortbale with these then you can try harder licks.

Another pointer...keep your fingers close to the fretbaord...we don't want to see them flying away and as you get faster your fingers should actually become closer to the fretbaord. This will only happen if you are not tensing up. If you are tensing up they will fly.