Page 1 of 2
I fingerpicked for a few years before using plectrums at the start of last year. Started soloing since then.
Quote by Vornik
Thanks for the advice. I'm going to put it, along with your other advice, into a book, the pages of which I will then use to wipe my ass.
I've been going at it solo since forever, but duets are much more fun.
haha lil waynes solos are uber shred

anyways

TS i started about a year after...i delicately worked on one "major" song while tinkering with others...and i saved the solo for last

just break it up into little pieces

and depending on what music you listen to might very the length you need before soloing
Quote by jsbud11
Dude your leetness is maximum.
Seriously if you leave UG without becoming a mod, I will kill someone.
Quote by Devopast
This is turning into fap-to-amazingfretman's-love-a-thon
Since I started playing.

Like everything else, I started with simple stuff - think Nirvana, and I'm still progressing.

Having said that, I'm still improving my rhythm technique, stamina and control predominantly
Quote by sglover34479
I mean when did you play guitar solos. not play by yourself.
Who was talking about guitar?
5 months into it, but I sacrificed one year of school for my playing, I think it was Bohemian Rhapsody.

Quote by sglover34479
I mean when did you play guitar solos. not play by yourself.

Quote by Jack Off Jill
"Son, always carry a medical glove in your pocket in case you wind up in a bathroom that has no toilet paper, and you get constipated."
Quote by saphrax
Since I started playing.

Like everything else, I started with simple stuff - think Nirvana, and I'm still progressing.

Having said that, I'm still improving my rhythm technique, stamina and control predominantly

I can play nirvana solos but what I have trouble with are faster bits like in the solo of Paranoid by Sabbath. I can play the first part of it but then I just can't play fast enough.
Quote by metaldud536