I was bored the other day, and I realised I never composed in Locrian, so I wanted to give it a shot (I think it is Locrian though)...

I like it, although the lead is boring at times (I may expand it later, and add some piano perhaps).
Had to go with a I chord vamp, nothing else to do really (or it would be very hard, at least for me and my noobness with chord progressions).
I wanted it to end nicely, so I made some chromatic progression there in the end (sounds kind of cool) and changed it to G major (don't ask me how to play those last bars, I can only doing using my thumb, and it hurts a lot)..

Anyways, this is my first time writing this kind of music, so I made it short.
Enjoy it (if you can )
Attachments:
Short diminished song.zip
Beautiful

Yeah, it was nice, in a diminished kind of way.

but you should use the diminished 7th chord instead of just diminished triads

It's made of:

Root, Flat 3rd, Flat 5th, Double flat 7th :O

so, all minor 3rds apart from each other

which in F# would be F#, A, C, Eb

I love it :P
wat.
Thanks

But I guess if I use a fully diminished chord, then it stops being Locrian, or can it be used as an accidental and it still being considered Locrian?

EDIT:So in F# a dim7 would be

E-2
B-4
G-2
D-4
A-3
E-2

Right?
Last edited by gonzaw at Oct 2, 2008,
Quote by gonzaw
Thanks

But I guess if I use a fully diminished chord, then it stops being Locrian, or can it be used as an accidental and it still being considered Locrian?

EDIT:So in F# a dim7 would be

E-2
B-4
G-2
D-4
A-3
E-2

Right?

Yeah, that's right

And yeah, it is used a lot in locrian even though it doesnt appear in the normal diatonic scales.
wat.
to tell the truth, the distorted lead over the acoustic rhythm sounded very bad.
I liked it better w/o lead altogether. it works as another acoustic though.

and why did you resolve to a G? I thought it sounded better to drop that last bass note to an F# and keep that tense locrian sound. just my thought though.