here in Austin..i'm now in college, 19 now.

I was in one back in Houston, and we actually won battle of the bands for my hs, even with originals I "wrote"..

Anyways, I've been playing for five years now and my question is, what do I really need to work on, in regards to playing, but mainly writing, with a band? I know pentatonics, major scale, minor scale, lots of different chords, memorized all notes on E and A string, something called the "C.A.G.E. Sequence", I know tons of songs of course, and I've written a handful of finished songs by trial and error, and by using stuff like

http://www.all-guitar-chords.com/chord_progressions.php

to mess with with different chords in a key and find something that sounds cool to me...(kinda feels like cheating)

That's another thing, I usually can't just sit and think up a real cool melody or chord progression or line, I just have to mess around enough by playing, and by trial and error till I find something I really like...I imagine that's not the best/efficient way to go about it..and it seems that would really put off a bandmember at a practice or something..

So if I am playing and writing with a band, what are just some fundamental things I need to work on memorizing,learning etc?

and if it makes any difference I mainly play Alternative Rock, 90's, funk, Radiohead and Pinkfloyd type stuff.

Thanks for any help
My username is old, don't judge me (but old 311 is good)
A good way to write is to know your cycle of fifths within the key your writing in so you can work out appropriate chord progressions from there, and If you know how each chord functions within a key, and you already have lyrics, you can lay down the basic progression to fit the mood of the lyrics without picking up a guitar, and then go from there for the actual instrumentation
'08 Gretsch White Falcon
'98 Fender USA Deluxe Tele
'79 Greco Les Paul Standard
Airline Stratotone Crafter GAE8

A bunch of funky pedals