Hi all, first time poster here. Right, a wee bit of background first, I'm studying Product Design Engineering at University, and for my final year project I'm thinking of designing and/or building some sort of portable guitar (possibly a bass version too). One that's primarily for practice, but could have some sort of sound quality, but mostly practice. I myself play bass, for about four years now, so I kind of know what I'm looking for, but I need to know what the masses are looking for.

It'll be something that can fit in a rucksack, then be clicked together, or unfolded or something, and then allows you to play away.

I've seen things like compact guitars and the Centrefold, but they're all too big, I'm making something far smaller.

What I need is feedback and plenty of it.

Would anyone be interested in a hyper-portable guitar that can fit in a rucksack?

How many people would think of buying something like this?

What would you look for in such a product?

How much would you expect to pay, (a minimum and maximum would be good here)?

What do you enjoy about guitar? The feel of the strings and playing, or the sound etc?

When you go travelling on holiday, do you take your guitar with you? In a hard/soft case? Is it much trouble?

Think of it, kinda like the Gameboy of guitars. It's not intended to fully recreate the guitar playing experience, but just think, you're ona train or a plane for three hours, you get that itch to riff a little bit, so you reach into your rucksack and pull out this hyper-portable guitar.

Any and all help is really appreciated as it means I can justify making this thing to my lecturers!

Thanks in advance!
Here I go then,

What I need is feedback and plenty of it.

Would anyone be interested in a hyper-portable guitar that can fit in a rucksack?
Yes, very interested so I could take it to school or to a matez in a bag. Even if it is for practice, I could take it to my bass players house and show him a riff.