This is my first time buying strings for my guitar and I was wondering what kind I should get. I need something $25 or under for a full set. I'm playing classic rock, metal, and some fusion. My bridge is double locking, I don't know if that matters or not.
under $25? are you getting bass strings or what...? Decent guitar strings are like $5

Try some Ernie Ball Slinkies, or DR strings if the store has 'em. I would NOT reccommend D'addarios or Elixirs.
Quote by breakdown123
Is there such a thing as a heavy riff with out chugging on the e string?
Couple things:

1) For $25 buying guitar strings will net you a handful of new sets. If you were buying bass, those are in that price range but unless you're buying Elixer or Cleartone brand strings, you shouldn't spend more than $7 on a pack.

2) I'd almost suggest having a tech restring for you, and ask if you can watch them do it? So you can ask questions and get familiar with it. It's not hard at all, just... specific.
Quote by sargasm
There are no genres in metal that end with "core."
I know all about how to restring the double locking bride-the spring tension and everything.
Good. Now go to your local music store and get some strings.
Quote by breakdown123
Is there such a thing as a heavy riff with out chugging on the e string?
I'd say Ernie Ball Super Slinkys are good beginner strings, well any 09's for that matter but I always use Ernie Balls and never have trouble with em. Once your comfortable with 09's I'd recommend going up to 10's for the simple fact that it will give you a better sound for big chunky classic rock riffs and you can tune down for metal without the strings becoming a floppy mess.
well ... works like this: you enter the store.. go to the desk and say: i need some new strings.. i want some "ex: d'addarios 10's" for electric guitar ...
D'addario is the name of the string manufacture.. "10's" are the thickness of the strings.. 10 refer to the thickness of the highest string (high E string)