Hello, I am after a little guitar related advice please...

I've been playing acoustic for about 4 years now and I'm frankly bored of it
So, I'm after a new electric kit.... I'll be a' needin':

I've so far been looking at the Epiphone Les Paul Studio's, as well as the Vintage V100's but have no real clue wether they are 'good' or not.

The sort of stuff I want to play is: Rage Against The Machine (I can do the morello style scratches - allready learnt that), Smashing Pumpkins (88-95, not the new stuff), Gun's n' Roses, My Bloody Valentine , Audioslave, Hell Is For Heroes etc etc.

I have a budget of about £300-£400 for my kit, so a bit, but not alot.

Any help would be very very welcome
    Last edited by Mankz. at Oct 4, 2008,
    If you're going to be playing my bloody valentine, the les paul studio won't work. You need something with a tremolo bar, preferably a Fender Jazzmaster or Jaguar, since those are the only guitars they ever used. Not sure how that'll fit into the budget though.
    for the cables, cleartone are amazingly good for the money. you can get a 10ft lead for under a tenner which is far better than any of my old cables (including planet waves, horizon etc. which were more like £20).

http://www.award-session.com/cleartone_cables.html 10 ft instrument cable is plenty if you're only playing at home.