i was playing the guitar in my room when my brothers friend comes in and their playing 360 and i started playing some ac dc and my brother likes ac dc so he sings along and were just messing around and his friend looks at my computer to see that im looking at the tabs while im playing and he goes, "you use tabs?? i usually figure my songs by ear maybe if i really couldnt figure it out id use tabs." his tone made it sound like tabs were like cheating, so i ask you whats your opinion on this??
Don't worry about it. If he wants to be a smug bastard about how he can figure out by ear, let him.

Do your own thing, nobody's your boss
Retarded. Though I don't think you should look at them while playing. I figure you should learn the song BEFORE playing it. Then again, I don't think people should play others' material unless covering a song or two (not a whole set) with their band. Most people that say they do it entirely by ear are just trying to sound cool. He probably doesn't actually figure them out by ear.
That Cheap Fucking Smile Carries You To Bed

Those Lips Are Social Suicide But I Just Wanna See You Dead.
I've found that most people who make claims like that are often making things up to make themselves seem superior.

So in short, screw him.
Quote by vintage x metal
I love you =] I can't say I was very fond of you when we first started talking because you trolled the hell out of my threads, but after talking to you here I've grown very attached to you.

Yeah, write to my fanclub about it, honey.
you should put your brothers friends' head in a car door. open/close until he's no longer smug.
"Swim in a lake of death, eaten by crocodiles!"

Gear:
Jackson RR3
Epiphone Les Paul Custom
Stagg C 442
Randall RG100G3 plus combo
Roland Cube 30X
TS9 Tubescreamer
It's not bad, but it doesn't hurt to try and play by ear. I tend to use tabs as well, but i have figured some songs out by ear.
Bands to see before I die:
Iron Maiden
Foo Fighters
Megadeth
Reel Big Fish
Rush