im new to homebrewing and i was going to give it shot since mead is scarce around here. i just need to know a random question haha. during the fermentation process the CO2 that the yeast gives off, does this smell in any way? and how strong does it smell?
Gibson SG Special Faded(Super Distortion/PAF Pro)
Carvin V3M
Jet City JCA2112RC
Taylor 114e
Ibanez SR300e

Quote by Delanoir
In 60 years, there will still be Opeth.
You know why?
Death ain't got **** on Mikael.
My uncle brews mead in his house, but I haven't smelled anything come from the basement. I imagine it would smell, though.
Quote by SeveralSpecies
My uncle brews mead in his house, but I haven't smelled anything come from the basement. I imagine it would smell, though.

but have you smelled anything in the basement? id imagine it would smell too, and i need to keep it on the d/l
Carvin V3M
Jet City JCA2112RC
Taylor 114e
Ibanez SR300e

Quote by Delanoir
You know why?
it's not really that strong, I used to use a bubbler, try using a blow off tube in a glass of water, it really shouldn't smell that strong, brewing beer from scratch though, can stink up your house pretty good, but smells awesome mmmm!!!
Quote by Linqua5150
but have you smelled anything in the basement? id imagine it would smell too, and i need to keep it on the d/l

I've never been in his basement That's why I only went as far as what smell came from the basement.
CO2? No, the CO2 won't smell at all. It's an odorless compound. There are probably a few aromatic compounds that come out of the brewing though, so I wouldn't be surprised if there was a smell. Given that you're talking about mead, I'd guess a pretty potent one too.
Quote by flyfshr
it's not really that strong, I used to use a bubbler, try using a blow off tube in a glass of water, it really shouldn't smell that strong, brewing beer from scratch though, can stink up your house pretty good, but smells awesome mmmm!!!