Havent made a thread in a while but i felt that I may need some advice on this one... Serious advice that is.

Im a freshman in college and earlier today i recieved an Email from the technology department at my school... They said that the RIAA (Recording Industry Association of America) Contacted them in reference to copyright infringement that has occurred on the schools network... The infringement got traced back to ONE song of mine that was shared to another person on the network which essentially broke the policy in the school and the law... Being that it was only one song i am skeptical as to what exactly is going to happen. In the email there was nothing said about punishment other than possible suspension of my internet access at school. To me it seemed like kind of a warning to get rid of my peer to peer program (limewire) and get rid of any illegally downloaded material. I have done so but am still a bit unsure if the RIAA is really going to take action in this. I know for a fact TONS of students at my college and colleges across the country have gotten similair notices im just not sure what the consequences were.

Thanks in Advance.
Member #48 of the Weezer Fan club

Gear.
Epiphone LP Classic Quilt Top (w/ SD SH-4 in bridge)
Crate XT 120R
Line 6 PODXT Live
Squier Strat
Dean Markley Blue Steel Strings (light)
Quote by tremeloud
Havent made a thread in a while but i felt that I may need some advice on this one... Serious advice that is.