Okay, I'm a novice here. I'm also aware that the SS vs Tube Amp can turn into a Ford vs Chevy argument. Hopefully this thread will remain constructive. In addition at any time feel free to tell me I don't know what the heck I'm talking about. Much of what I'm about to say may in fact be out of ignorance. So now that that's out of the way...

It's my understanding that with distortion on a tube amp you basically have 2 tubes (or sets of tubes). The first tube is a low wattage tube. Once you "push" that tube past a few watts it will distort (via the gain control). The other tube will then amplify this distorted sound to whatever level you desire. If I'm incorrect here, please let me know.

On a SS amp, you're basically using solid state electronics to emulate this analog distortion. As such, just like any other "emulation", it's not perfect and therefore the tube amp ultimately sounds "better".

I've used the past two paragraphs as the basis for my understanding when I was looking at distortion pedals. From my limited research over the course of this past weekend, it appears as if most pedals are solid state. I was looking at one in particular that was tube, but most I found were solid state. That leads me to my question:

Since many people use pedals can I assume that most people are actually emulating distortion and then amplifying this distortion via a tube amp's clean channel? If so, can I be safe to say that it's almost as if you're running a hybrid of SS and Tube? It makes sense to me with my limited understanding that if anything the distorted channel would be the channel that we'd prefer to have tubes as opposed to the clean channel. If this is the case, why aren't more pedals tube?