I'm a total beginner and i'm thinking of buying the epiphone DR-100 acoustic. I know it's not the best but is it o.k. for learning. Does it stay in tune ect. I don't want to spend alot in case i find i'm totally tone deaf or something. If i get good later i'll buy something better. So if you have this guitar or know something about it give me your opinion, thanks.
If you're a beginner it's worth getting a guitar like that, and that's not a bad starter guitar, but look into some Yamaha's if you want something that you would play when you get technical, too.
I started playing about a month ago, and I bought an Epiphone DR-100. The only other guitar I've played is my friends Yamaha FG730S, and I have to say it's easier to play, sounds better and stays in tune longer, but it's also more than double the price of my guitar.

I really am enjoying learning to play, and so part of me does wish I picked up the Seagull S6 I was looking at, but at the same time if I decide I don't want to play anymore in a month or two, I won't feel bad about letting the Epiphone sit in my basement.

Bottom line: if you're just trying out learning the guitar as a hobby to see if you like it, get the Epiphone. If you're serious about learning to play, spend a bit more money now and get something that will last you longer.
all yamahas are good beginner guitars. they're easy to play and usually sound ok.
Equipment:
- Art & Lutherie Cedar CW (SOLD! )
- Martin D-16RGT w/ LR Baggs M1 Active Soundhole Pickup
- Seagull 25th Anniversary Flame Maple w/ LR Baggs Micro EQ

Have an acoustic guitar? Don't let your guitar dry out! Click here.
i had a yamaha c40 few years back

its a good guitar, easy to learn on, doesnt get out of tune , body is perfect till now
good resonance and smooth playing without buzzing

most importantly try your guitar before buying it