So, I'm a noob when it comes to cabs. Some guy is selling an old Laney 2x12 with Celestion G12T-75 speakers from a Marshall JCM 800 model 1936 cab. I've got a couple questions.

1.) He's asking $150. Is it worth this much or less?

2.) Would I be making a mistake if I buy it? I don't gig yet, but do plan on it. I'm used to having combo amps, so for some reason I'm hesitant on getting this.

3.) The cab wont work without a head right? So I can get a SS head and a Tube head...right? A cab is just speakers, and the "sound" comes from the head.

4.) I have an Orange Crush15r, and I saw a video of some guy with a 212 and it looked like he had a combo amp set up as a head and ran it through his 212 that he built...would this be possible or am I making this up?

Your help is really needed and appreciated. I have absolutely no idea what I am doing and what I am about to get myself into!
Quote by CrazyDavey
I guarantee that no guy in here would say no if they were offered the chance to have sex with her. This being The Pit... horny virgins galore :]
$150 for that is a good deal
Peavey JSX
Marshall 1960A
Ibanez S470 DXQM
Boss DD-6
Dunlop Original Crybaby
It is a good deal. you will need a head, yes. there are some combos that can be heads but not alot.
Obsession! Obsessive! Obsessed! Abscess!
i dont know about the price.

but for the others.

2) thats a personal choice

3)yes, there will be no sound without external help. and a SS or tube head will work (as long as the wattage load isnt too great for the speakers, and the ohm impedance is the same)

4) if the combo has an extension speaker output jack, you can use it to power the cab. this may or may not cut out the sound coming form the speakers in the combo, that depends on the amp's internal wiring.
1) yes
2) maybe, it depends when you plan on starting to gig an wether u have a head or not
3)the signal comes from the head and the signal goes to the speakers, no actual sound comes from the head