hey im trying to develop this before its too late. i have been playing for 3 months and only just realized that i should probably get this down before anything else. when im doing the standard 1234 excercise, at a really slow speed like 35 bpm, should i lift up each finger and try to keep all perfectly still while putting one down and playing the next note? or should i put them down as i ascend?

yes i have watched fp's video on finger ind.

p.s. is anchoring something i should put a stop to now as well?
Last edited by sgman133 at Oct 8, 2008,
Hey man, I suggest you look into this workbook about chromatic scale exercises that produces finger independence:

The purpose of this book is to provide the guitar player with a wide variety of finger exercises to develop the technique necessary to succeed in today's music scene. These exercises are designed to help increase speed, improve dexterity, develop accuracy and promote finger independence. These exercises cover a wide range of technical requirements to help beginners through experienced pros.
Quote by sgman133
hey im trying to develop this before its too late. i have been playing for 3 months and only just realized that i should probably get this down before anything else. when im doing the standard 1234 excercise, at a really slow speed like 35 bpm, should i lift up each finger and try to keep all perfectly still while putting one down and playing the next note? or should i put them down as i ascend?

yes i have watched fp's video on finger ind.

p.s. is anchoring something i should put a stop to now as well?

Watch FP's vid on correct practice as well as the one on finger independence. And yes, you should put a stop to any anchoring issues now while it's still relatively easy.
R.I.P. My Signature. Lost to us in the great Signature Massacre of 2014.

Quote by Master Foo
“A man who mistakes secrets for knowledge is like a man who, seeking light, hugs a candle so closely that he smothers it and burns his hand.”