O.K. this is gonna sound like a retard question but I'm kinda new to this so..

What, if any, is the difference between a distortion pedal and a overdrive pedal? Or are they the same thing? Are these terms just slang for saying the samething? I'm confused. Thanks.
Yeah, I kind of need this knowledge too. And can someone suggest a nice effects pedal to me?
Quote by Psalm 150:4
Someone told me Bach sounded like crap.

Quote by Minkaro
What a dick, right? Skid Row are awesome
I'm not sure when I think of it actually, but overdrive gives you more boost and crunch sort of, and distortion... ads distortion.
C4C
Please check out some of my original music and leave me a comment @ SoundCloud
(or in my profile!)

Progressive|Thrash|Math|Metal
Last edited by BlisteringDDj at Oct 8, 2008,
Overdrive = crunch. An amp turned up to where it's slightly 'dirty'.

Distortion = metal. It's like overdrive times dos.
I can assure you they're not the same thing.
C4C
Please check out some of my original music and leave me a comment @ SoundCloud
(or in my profile!)

Progressive|Thrash|Math|Metal
at responses.
Od's and distortions are similar but not the same.
Distortions use a harder clipping to achieve their gain, while overdrives use a softer clipping. The softer form is much closer to the original signal of the amp and therfore creates a more "natural" gain. It also involes the driving of the amp, which is why overdrives are used more for tube amps since the driving and breakup of a tube is far more desierable then a ss amp. There is a more in depth explination in the sticky, I believe.
Generally, ODs use "soft" clipping, where the top of the waveform is rounded off where distortion uses "hard" clipping, where the top of the waveform is sliced off.
Quote by H4T3BR33D3R
I masturbated in front of a mirror and I pretended Bob Barker was giving me a handjob.

Quote by Bazilisck311

You know you're a guitar player if the pianist at your wedding plays "Eruption"