hey,

I've beedn playin for 2 years so how good should i be. Could some1 name some songs i should be able to play by now? I know every1 learns at their own pace but tell me what kind of songs a 2 year guitar player should be a ble to play. I've seen heaps, and i MEAN heaps, of people who have been playing for only a year (sometimes only 7 months), and they play 4 or 5 times better than I can. Maybe its coz they hav a teacher but i doubt that. Also could you tell me what i should be trying to learn? just pretend i'm a beginner and suggest where i should start plz.

thnx
Last edited by Aisten at Oct 8, 2008,
everyones different. theres not a "level" of guitar playing you should be at. it depends on how much practice and time you put into it. you could play every other week for a 2 years or everyday for 2 years. if youre really that worried about being an amazing guitar player or w.e then you're not playing for the right reasons.
I play for fun. I just want to get good so that i can play the songs i like. The songs i like are susposed to be hard to play so thats the reason i'm asking if any1 else is wondering.
ok well if youre a 2 year player then you should at least know your scales and shit i guess. and basic songs should be easy as pie, but if you know your scales well enough, you can play anything with enough practice.
metelica, slipknot and through the fire and flames and others. I can't play metallica and slipkot very well so i'm asking where i should be at coz i'm thinking after playing two years at roughly 8-12 hours a week maybe i learning the wrong things or sumthing.
Hey Gabe u got any advice on learning scales? Coz i hav no idea what they are althoguh i hear people keep saying scales on guitar sites. Also how do practice scales?
If you DO decide to practise scales (which isn't necessarily a good or a bad thing for everyone) then practise with a metronome at very slow speeds.