Okay, so I read the.new.guy's thread about having bad max speed, and a discussion regarding anchoring was brought up. I became aware that i anchored with my little finger, and now I'm trying to fix it.

I watched some Paul Gilbert and Buckethead videos, and I tried picking like them, but I only found this created more tension.

Is this only because I am new to unanchoring?
If not, is it just me doing it wrong?
Or am I just mistaking tension with "awkwardness"? (is that even a word?)

Thanks in advance!
Its just you not being used to playing with your picking hand hovering over the strings.

The thing is, when you alternate pick to a faster degree, you naturally use your whole arm to pick faster... not only your wrist. So your whole arm starting from the elbow goes up and down.. which you cant do if you got it anchored to the guitar.

You can get used to it by starting slow with a metronome.
Quote by jsantos
Its just you not being used to playing with your picking hand hovering over the strings.

The thing is, when you alternate pick to a faster degree, you naturally use your whole arm to pick faster... not only your wrist. So your whole arm starting from the elbow goes up and down.. which you cant do if you got it anchored to the guitar.

You can get used to it by starting slow with a metronome.

ok, yes start very slowly with a metronome but no, when picking at higher speeds it should be coming entirely from the wrist. don't get me wrong you're using muscles in your arm but unless you're sweeping or moving over strings you shouldn't be playing from the elbow.
Quote by wokketywok
Okay, so I read the.new.guy's thread about having bad max speed, and a discussion regarding anchoring was brought up. I became aware that i anchored with my little finger, and now I'm trying to fix it.

I watched some Paul Gilbert and Buckethead videos, and I tried picking like them, but I only found this created more tension.

Is this only because I am new to unanchoring?