Whats up everybody
I'm a relatively new guitarist, been playing for about 9 months without lessons
I'm getting pretty decent so I wanna upgrade from my Epiphone Studio 15R starter amp
I am torn between a Line 6 Spider III 30W and a Marshall MG30DFX
Any advice?

P.S. I use an Epiphone Les Paul Special II and I like to play rock, alternative rock, and small amount of metal (like metallica).
well i own the marshall mg 15 dfx and it is a good amp. till you need to gig. i have never used the spyder tho
Lol the people here hate both the amps. Personally take the marshall because marshall rocks, nice tone with a nice full bodied OD - i dont care what the n00bs say - its a good amp. And i generally dont like Spiders, because anything thats relatively cheap by line 6 generally isnt worth having imo
Both are horrible amps (from first hand experience, I'm not a bandwagon kinda guy)
What's your budget?
A Roland Cube 30 would be much better than either of those
ohai little sig.
Blackheart Little Giant
Now do you believe in rock and roll?

Can music save your mortal soul?
I've never actually heard an MG but the word pretty much everywhere is that they're total crap.

I HAVE played Line 6 amps though. Every single one I've seen sounded like crap.

Stand by for either a flood of flames or a flood of suggestions in the same price range, depending on how UG's feeling.

Demonikk: Roland Cube amps always seem to be liked by people who love super high-gain metal. That's not what he's looking for.

These days there are actually some tube amps available in that price range, although there are some good solid state ones as well.
Last edited by Blaster Bob at Oct 9, 2008,
Quote by Demonikk
Both are horrible amps (from first hand experience, I'm not a bandwagon kinda guy)
What's your budget?

I disagree, the marshall amps sound really good, im not that fond of spyders, both from first hand experience.