Ok, after weeks of searching for a good electric guitar and being let down one way or another, I've just decided to make my own, the only apparent way to make it truly perfect

If everything goes as planned, it will have:
A strat body - already got one
An Ibanez-style neck that's more suitable for fast shredding (thin, 24 frets)
Floyd Rose
A humbucker and 2 singles - probably SD or Dimarzio
Custom inlays, knobs, cool paint job, pickguard, etc.

I have a few questions though.

First of all, would putting a thin 24-fret neck on a strat body be a bad idea for any reason? Would it be better to just get a cheap Ibanez RG style guitar for that part (since it looks stratty already)?

Secondly, to add a locking tremolo, would I have to modify the neck? Sorry, I'm a newb when it comes to tremolos. Is the locking part at the neck actually part of the neck, or just a separate thingie?

Finally, What would be the best way to permanently dye some inlays and my pickguard red? These are the inlays I plan to get: http://img261.imageshack.us/my.php?image=decoblockbmophalfli9.jpg - Except I want the silverish part to be red.

Thanks in advance.
Last edited by Zecromancer at Oct 10, 2008,
I think the only way you could get a neck that fits a strat body , is routed for a floyd rose and has 24 frets is warmoth...if they even do it. There prices are pretty high though. Yes you would have to modify the neck or get one all ready modified. If you wanted I could make you a neck like that for around $200 if you can't find one. Also the neck pickup would have to be moved up with a 22 fret neck.