Ok, I've been playing for 3 years now, finally have a nice guitar, and I'm about ready to upgrade on amps. I've been using a 75 w spider 3 (yes, I know spiders aren't that great, but I got it for next to nothing) and I'm ready to go to the next step for equipment. I intend to do some recording and gigging, so I need something of a pretty decent quality, but I can't get a full Marshall stack or anything (I live in a relatively small room, could work a half stack probably, so nothing 8 feet high, K). I'm really not sure if I should go with a tube since I'll probably end using this new amp all the time, and I've always heard tubes aren't good until you get to higer volumes, correct me if I'm wrong or if that can be worked around, I'm limited on equipment knowledge.

Budget: I can probably work up to a 1000, so just kind of put things out that aren't to much more than that.

Genre: I primarily play hard rock metal (Protest the hero, Avenged sevenfold, Dethklok) but I focus on the sweeping in metal and the more melodic parts of the genre, not so much on the heavier stuff, if that helps. Thanks everyone, your help is greatly appreciated
You're going to want a tube amp in your budget. High gain amps and just modern amps in general are meant to sound good at low volumes and better at high volumes, you'll have no problem with it sounding good at low volumes for you.

For $1000, I'd suggest:

Mesa DC-5/DC-10
Mesa F-50/F-100
Mesa Rect-O-Verb/Trem-O-Verb
Mesa Mark III
Peavey 5150/6505/5150 II/6505+
Peavey JSX
Peavey XXX
Hughes and Kettner TriAmp
Randall RM50/RM100

Head or Combo form will do for any of them (if it's available in combo). You're going to want to go used BTW, all those amps I listed in your price range are based off used prices
Quote by Dave_Mc
I've had tube amps for a while now, but never actually had any go down on me
Quote by jj1565
maybe you're not saying the right things? an amp likes to know you care.

www.SanctityStudios.com