Hey everyone, I was hoping I could get some advice about what I should be looking for in an electric guitar, or really what will satisfy my needs.

I currently only have an acoustic and have wanted to move into electric for a while. I have a pretty tight budget so I cant afford anything crazy. I guess the thing I am most confused about are the pickups that come on a guitar, there was this one guitar at a local music shop that had both electric and also an acoustic sounding pickup which I thought was really cool, would anybody recommend that kind of guitar?

Just an idea as to what type of music I want to play, I like to play songs from Muse, The Clash, Tragically Hip, Jeff Buckley, things like that. So I think I may be looking for pickups with a cleaner sound, one with some bite, compared to the humbucker???

Sorry if my post seems a little unclear, I am a complete newb when it comes to electrics, just any help would be nice so I dont go out and buy something I wont like.

Thanks!
Joe Strummer played a Tele, and Matt Bellamy plays a Manson...

I dunno what you could do, but probably look into an H/H Tele.
Quote by DeathByDestroyr
What the hell is a G&L.

Quote by Flux'D
Gay & Lesbian I think, the box smelled funny
Greg what did you send me??
i haven't actually tried any hybrids (both magnetic/electric and piezo/acoustic pickups), so i'm not much help there...

what's your budget, what country are you in (affects prices), and do you currently have an amp?
I'm an idiot and I accidentally clicked the "Remove all subscriptions" button. If it seems like I'm ignoring you, I'm not, I'm just no longer subscribed to the thread. If you quote me or do the @user thing at me, hopefully it'll notify me through my notifications and I'll get back to you.
Quote by K33nbl4d3
I'll have to put the Classic T models on my to-try list. Shame the finish options there are Anachronism Gold, Nuclear Waste and Aged Clown, because in principle the plaintop is right up my alley.