Hello,
I have been playing guitar for 9 months and would like to learn more about scales. Currently I only know a few box shapes and the general principles that underlie a scales such as intervals. I also understand basic chord construction.

I am beginning with the major scale in the key of C. My goal is to be able to move across the entire fretboard while sticking within a single key. How would you suggest I best begin to learn the scale?

My thoughts so far are to: use a metronome, become familiar with the shapes in each location on the fretboard. Learn 1 section of fretboard, shape 2, learn how to combine 1+2. I know that this takes months and not days and I just want to get started. Tips, suggestions, help me?!
I have a book called "Everything About Guitar Scales" by Wilbur M. Savidge. I picked it up at Half Price books for a couple of dollars. It has pretty much every single scale imaginable along with some background info, standard notation, and tabs.

The ISBN # is: 1-884848-01-X

AbeBooks is selling a used copy for $3.74 + shipping.

http://www.abebooks.com/servlet/BookDetailsPL?bi=1158589008&searchurl=an%3DWilbur%2Bm.%2BSavidge%26sts%3Dt%26x%3D0%26y%3D0
"In Power Trios I Trust..."
Gibson SG Classic, Fender CP Jaguar Special HH, '65 RI Mustang
'65 Ampeg Gemini I G-12 Combo, Orange Tiny Terror
The metronome isn't vital - remember you're learning about the scale, not how to play it.

The best thing to do is pick a scale, find where it's root notes occur and follow the pattern of intervals to find where the other notes fall...you'll end up discovering the scale patterns for yourself but it will help you understand why those shapes exist. You'll usually end up finding some interesting routes through the scale too as you start findinf multiple instances of the same note.