I was curious to know the differences between the American and Mexican telecaster bodies. There is a 2008 Mexican model (body only) on eBay i have been looking at and as far as i can see it seems there are no real differences between it and an American model. However, i am no expert on the subject and would like to know if i would be sacrificing any real tone or be getting myself into a difficult mess with hardware and such if i were to invest in that particular body. I plan to build the guitar myself and if i can save a bit buy buying that body when there is no real difference in the wood and cuts then it seems like a good deal right? If I am missing something please fill me in. Thanx.
Never pick a fight with an ugly person, they've got nothing to lose.

-Robin Williams
Any particular reason?

-Robin Williams
Sell,Sell,Sell!

But seriously theres no noticable difference unless youre really picky, I say buy. The only main differences I can see there being is the type of wood. Which wont make that much of a difference. Body routing may be different but it wont cause any problems.
some us ones are mad out of solid ash but that is only the $100 more expensive ones. differnt finishes. and the american one is made form fewer peices probaly
My Gear:
Jackson DK2M
PRS Paul Allender Sig
Epiphone SG Special
Fender Blues Jr.
Roland Micro Cube
Ya cause i went to the fender site and they are both made out of the same kind of wood. Im really just trying to make an informed decision and a good buy.

-Robin Williams
if its cheap and ur sure its a standard body its probaly a good buy
My Gear:
Jackson DK2M
PRS Paul Allender Sig
Epiphone SG Special
Fender Blues Jr.
Roland Micro Cube
What do you mean by standard?

-Robin Williams
And what would you consider cheap?

-Robin Williams
i remember reading somewhere that the bodies and necks for both the mexican and american fenders were made in usa. i could be wrong though
NOPE