Okay, well I've been playing in a band (my first one) for about 8 or 9 months, we play pretty regular shows at bars/clubs in our town, and receive overwhelmingly positive reviews. We mostly play covers, simply because that's what most bar-goers seem to want to hear, but have a few a originals (I'm the primary songwriter). My problem is, being the front man, I have to deal with all of the drunk people when we take breaks and after the show. It's annoying as hell. How do you deal with it? I always end up trying to play 'ambassador,' being as friendly as possible and faking interest in their conversations. Sometimes it's fine, and some of the folks are a lot of fun to hang out with, but one drunk can really spoil the show. I'm so sick of hearing some drunk guys philosophy on existence, or taking advice from folks who spend the majority of their free time drunk at a bar. I don't care that you think the moon landings were faked, and I don't care that I'm not 'grounded' enough. Yes, it would be cool if you bought me a beer, no, I won't play Freebird. Pantera? That's not really our style, sorry (which is usually followed by begging). Etc. Etc.

So, how can I better deal with this? Just run away and hang out by myself during breaks? Just get shitfaced enough to not care?
"Ain't got no time to grow old"
- Bradley Nowell (R.I.P.)
Eh. I'd endure it until they've bought me a drink then **** off as fast as possible.
Stop being a spoil sport and tell em to piss off. If your a cool band you'll be a bit risque and punch a few people
the trick is to be pro-active rather than waiting for them to get some momentum, cos if you just sit there they'll tell you their entire life story. cut them off early on, don't get into anything too deep and be as energetic as possible. also, try going around and talking to different people, it'll stop you getting bogged down so much and it'll get people interested in you and the band. if you're by yourself at the bar you're gonna attract the loners.