Finally decided I'm going to give it a shot. Always wanted to play since I was a kid. I prefer classic rock (mostly AC DC), some older metal, and country as well. I was thinking of a Fender HSS Standard Strat and a FEnder Superchamp XD amp. Would this work for what I want to play? I don't mind spending a little but I don't want to break the bank, just starting out. Thanks.
Starting with an original Fender Strat? =o Kudos to you for having money. lol
I started with a Strat HSS, and I couldnt be happier: Very versatile, works for classic, heavy, blues, anything you want. As for amps, I'm no expert...
Strat is fine if you want country and yet that classic rock feeling. Could check Epiphone Les Pauls also. Not sure about the amp. I know the Fender Hotrod Deluxe (40W amp) is awesome for your needs but its 700$

http://www.samash.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/product_Hot%20Rod%20Deluxe%201x12%20Guitar%20Combo%20Amplifer_-1_10052_10002_-49986840_cmCategorySA-10001

The Big Muff pedal maybe for you. I don't have one but its said to enhance that classic rock sound we all got to love. ^^ Hope this helps.

Edit: http://www.samash.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/product_USA%20Big%20Muff%20Fuzz%20Reissue%20Distortion%20Pedal_-1_10052_10002_-49960521_cmCategorySA-10001

^ That's the reissue one. It brings a fuzzier 70s sound which for stuff like Hendrix or Pink Floyd, it should own.
thats pretty high end stuff for a beginner. you could probably save a little on the guitar for now and go cheaper but as you progress youll start wanting a quality instrument. if you can afford it and youre confident enough youll stick with it i would go for it.
Quote by RR787
Strat is fine if you want country and yet that classic rock feeling. Could check Epiphone Les Pauls also. Not sure about the amp. I know the Fender Hotrod Deluxe (40W amp) is awesome for your needs but its 700$