I have been messing around on a fender starter kit for about two years now and think it is time to upgrade, with a budget of around $400 for the guitar and $250 for the amp what kind of setup does anyone recomend for playing Rise Against, and other newer hardcore punk.
here is kinda what I was thinking
guitar: fender strat standard price 399.99 @ guitar center, or a used les paul epiphone
amp: crate v series 33 watt price 249.90 @ guitar center
http://www.guitarcenter.com/Crate-V-Series-V33-212-33W-2x12-Tube-Guitar-Combo-Amp-487056-i1372076.gc

also what kinds of pedals would I need?

Thanks,
Alec
If I were you, I would put more money into the amp, less into the guitar.
Gear:
Ibanez S470 (EMG 81/S/85)
Sigma DMC-15E
Laney VH100R
Laney 4x12 Cab
Ibanez Weeping Demon
M-Audio ProKeys 88
Mbox 3 Pro
KRK RP6 G2's
Plum Team FTW!

X
Guitar: Any Epiphone U can afford
Amp: Marshal, Peavy or Line 6 Spider
Pedals: Boss Metal Zone, and Chrono Tuner (my favs )

-GG327
Quote by Guitargod327
Guitar: Any Epiphone U can afford
Amp: Marshal, Peavy or Line 6 Spider
Pedals: Boss Metal Zone, and Chrono Tuner (my favs )

-GG327

Those pedals you suggested are rather pointless. Metal Zone would be redundant if he got a decent amp, Chrono tuner is only useful if he was gigging.

TS, go out amp shopping. Don't worry about changing guitar yet, or buying pedals. Get a nice sounding amp that you like, and work upwards from there.
Gear:
Sigma DMC-15E
Laney VH100R
Laney 4x12 Cab
Ibanez Weeping Demon
M-Audio ProKeys 88
Mbox 3 Pro
KRK RP6 G2's
Plum Team FTW!

X