Total noob question, and I apologise for it right off the bat.

But I was wondering, purely for practice purposes, could you play through a guitar head without it being plugged into a cab?

I don't need it loud at all. Just on.

Cheers.
No, heads have no speakers and therefore make no sound on their own.
Actually called Mark!

Quote by TNfootballfan62
People with a duck for their avatar always give good advice.

...it's a seagull

Quote by Dave_Mc
i wanna see a clip of a recto buying some groceries.

stuffmycatswatchontv.tumblr.com
Ah balls.

How come an amp head will have a sound spec. then? Eg. 75W or 100W etc.

Cheers.

PS. Could you plug it into a combo amp?
Quote by Mikey1989
Ah balls.

How come an amp head will have a sound spec. then? Eg. 75W or 100W etc.

Cheers.

PS. Could you plug it into a combo amp?

That's not a "sound spec", that's the amount of power the head puts out - you need a speaker cabinet to convert that power to sound.

If you can't afford a cab then there's no point buying a head - if you want a better amp then simply buy a better combo.
Actually called Mark!

Quote by TNfootballfan62

...it's a seagull

Quote by Dave_Mc

Fair enough.

I only really need the head for shows. I can't be using a combo at the shows I play.
The headline band will always supply cabs and if they don't there will usually be some kind of work around.

I can surely just plug headphones into the head to work on tones though, right?

Cheers.
No, headphones can't handle that kind of output - you'd just fritz them and possibly blow up the amp too.
Actually called Mark!

Quote by TNfootballfan62

...it's a seagull

Quote by Dave_Mc

just wondering what amp heads were you looking at? what type of music do you play?

and +1 to not being able to do that.
Jenneh

Quote by TNfootballfan62
Jenny needs to sow her wild oats with random Gibsons and Taylors she picks up in bars before she settles down with a PRS.

Set up Questions? ...Q & A Thread