Hey everybody,
So I've been playing for a couple of years now. I've been playing rythem the whole time I've been playing though, and lately I've begun to take more interest in lead. I've always wanted to learn more lead playing, but had no knowledge in theory and really had no idea where to start. I've always had scale booklets I'd go through to warm up my hands, but that's the only thing I knew about as far as my lead playing. So knowing little about theory and not knowing where to start with lead playing, I decided to take lessons from my local shop. After talking and jamming with my teacher, he got to know where I'm at in playing so far and what I can and can't do.

To sum it up, I got a really good teacher. He'll show me what I want to learn, explain anything I ask him about and instead of giving me a half hour lesson, we've been practicing for about an hour and sometimes jamming for another half hour. He's giving me stuff to work through out the week, which I spend alot of time working on. He listens and plays everything I do, and his bands pretty killer as well. He'll show me anything that has to do with rock, metal, blues and jazz. I also found out that he's good friend with alot of people I've jammed with before, and I find it alot easier to have a teacher close in age with the same music interest. (I'm almost 18 years old and he just turned 21 years old.)

Anyways, since my teachers been showing me quite a bit, I figured now would be a good time to work on some lead playing. I find it hard to learn bands songs for me though. It's not that I can't play them, it's just that I get bored with learning them and tend to just learn a riff or something that I enjoy. I've also been kicking bad habits lately, and making my playing a bit cleaner than what it is now. I'm having a hard time with sweeping right now, and I honestly don't want to work on solo's with sweeping until I get descent at it.