Hello, not sure if this was the right place to ask this but i couldnt think of anywhere else.

I'm relatively new to Guitar, been playing around 8/9 months now and I am using an Ibanez RG 350MDX, Roland Cube 30X and a Boss MT-2 Distortion pedal.

My problem is i cant seem to find a tone that i like. I'm looking for something that goes well with most metal songs however mainly Metallica eg Fade To Black chorus/lead parts.

How can i achieve this? Is the equipment I have that is causing the problem or am i just not using the right settings?

Any help is appreciated, thanks.
Two things come to mind.
1) You may be adding too much distortion ( the louder you play the less you need for sustain) start with less at playing level and add as needed.
2) Same with tone settings, at low volumes you need exaggerated settings of Bass , Mids & treble in order to hear them better. As soon as you turn up the settings become too much. Try starting with your tone controls mid way, tunr up to the level you want to play at and adjust accordingly. Sometimes it's better to reduce one control rather than inrease another to compensate ie reduce bass rather than crank treble if sound is too dull.
Moving on.....