Hi. I'm actually a guitarist and have never touched a bass before, but I'm here on behalf of my bands bassist help him search out for a bass that is beyond "starter" level and really gig worthy because we will be playing somewhat "serious" shows in the future. I have absolute no knowledge of bass or what is good in a bass/what to look for/qaulity brands in the bass world so my best bet is asking you bass "experts" here.

So, like the title says he has about $500, maybe he can push it up to $600, to upgrade to a real bass that is better then his current shitfactory, a Squire Jazz bass. The type of music that we do is mostly grunge, doom-metal and some early black metal stuff, if that makes any difference at all when considering different models. Although I honestly can't tell the difference between the different bass tones/styles (they all sound the same to me :/ ). He just needs something that will stand up to gigs and be a good workhorse instrument that won't shit the bed. Any recomendations?
Tell him to go to a shop and try out a few, it's mainly down to personal taste and often with this type of thread you get people just posting their own bass. He needs to find the perfect one to suite him.

One peice of advice: Fender and Ibanez = infinitely > Gibson
A Fender Precision Bass would be absolutely perfect for that kind of music. If Fender isn't "pro", I don't know what is.
im guessing he will be after a 4 string bass?

http://www.guitarcenter.com/Schecter-Damien-Bass-Guitar-104481965-i1416288.gc

That look's alright too me. im getting a shecter myself when i save up the cash, ive heard good things about them.

here is some specs and a better photo, click on it to enlarge it.

http://www.schecterguitars.com/index.asp
Last edited by Daniel8488 at Oct 14, 2008,
Ibanez SR500.
Schecter Stiletto Studio 5
Ibanez SRX2EX1
Gallien Krueger 1001rbii
Gallien Krueger Neo 410
schecter stilleto, or the ibanez sr 500
What doesn't kill us, only makes us stronger

Bass: Ibanez Gsr200