Hey guys,

I'm new to these forums, just signed up in fact - I believe the term is "newbie/nubie," something like that. Anyhow, I have a couple questions for you guys, and since I am a newbie, I hope you all take it easy on me the first couple times around. I hope my questions weren't asked before (I got an exam tomorrow... no time to research).

As you probably already deduced from the title, I'm looking into purchasing a new amp. I'm playing a Schecter Hellraiser 006 through a Fender Princeton 112 at the moment, so I'm in dire need of an amp ugrade. I've been playing 5 and some years (recently upgraded my guitar from an Ibanez RG-570 to the Schecter Hellraiser 006... might as well upgrade the amp as well). I figured that the Peavey Vypyr is an all tube amp (6L6 - whatever the hell that means, lol), projecting 120 watts at the price of only $650.00 brand new. To me, that sounds like a great price comparatively... but then again, what do I know? I'm merely an amateur who loves playing guitar. Hence I'm here asking away.

In your awesome opinions, what do you think about this amp [to those of you who have played it or own it] and would you recommend it? I've read countless articles online that have said that you're much better off buying a smaller tube amp than you are a solid state [say a half stack, for example] that are close in price. I would love to save up to buy a premier amp, i.e., Mesa Triple Rectifier, Marshall JCM, Fender Twin Reverb, etc. But in the meantime, I'd like to get a decent one to tie me over until I do get a premier amp.

I appreciate your time.

Have a great day,
Niloy
For 650, you can get a much better amp than the vypyr. So, what are your playing styles?
Gibson SG Standard
Gibson Les Paul Traditional
Cort Explorer
Squire Standard Strat rebuilt with Fender USA parts
Squire Tele
Krank 1980
Orange Tiny Terror
Traynor YCV 50 Blue
Peavey Vypyr 75

Will fly for food. Call me Dylan
6L6 is a type of power tube
this is a hybrid amp