Well, I just ordered a brand new Ibanez Prestige RG1527 7-string guitar, and from almost every review I've read, the pickups aren't that great. I'm not going to puchase right away, but I need to know ahead of time what pickups I'm going to get/would work best with an ibanez (my guitar).

Guitar I'm getting:
Prestige Ibanez RG1527 7-String!

I mainly play metal, thrash metal, some rock, and lots of lead!

So far, I'm looking at a DiMarzio D Sonic 7 DP706 for the Bridge:
http://www.guitarcenter.com/DiMarzio-D-Sonic-7-DP706-7-String-Pickup-309386-i1128242.gc

And an Air Norton for the Neck: (hopefully in a diff color)
http://www.guitarcenter.com/DiMarzio-DP793-Air-Norton-7-String-Pickup-302754-i1127856.gc

I'm not a pro at deciding which pickups are best tho. There is also a couple more pickups I'm not sure about including:
-DiMarzio D-Activator Neck Humbucker Pickup
-DiMarzio D Activator Bridge Humbucker Pickup

If you have any other suggestions or advice, PLEASE post/let me know! I will be very happy if you do.

Thanks SO MUCH if you help me!!!
Since you're only asking what pups to use, and not how to install them I wouldnt say this was the best section for that.

But an Air Norton and D sonic will work well, quite a John Petrucci kind of sound going on there.

Quote by dogismycopilot
Absent Mind, words cant express how much i love you. Id bone you, oh yea.

Quote by lumberjack
Absent Mind is, as usual, completely correct.

Quote by littlemurph7976
Id like to make my love for Neil public knowledge as he is a beautiful man
yea, I don't want to hassle with having to install a separate compartment for the battery =/

I'm actually pretty sure that I'm going to get a D-Sonic for the bridge and an Air Norton for the neck...

Any suggestions?
D-Activators are great for 7-strings and drop-tuned guitars

The other set would be a lil more versatile though.
Then there's this band called Slice The Cake...