I am very new to tube amps. i want to get something that can get metal/hard rock tones, Coheed and Cambria, black tide, blind melon(though there not metal i just really like them lol) and have nice cleans also. I normally rely on my amps distortion but im seeing that many people use a pedal to push their tube amp. I REALLY like the Jekyll and hyde pedal so i would probably use that. Also should i get mayby a lesser tube amp and then replace the speakers or something like that.

I have a Schecter C-1+ with stock hums that im gonna replace after i get a tube amp. My budget is $700 max on the amp.
I suggest you save money for a high gain amp in that budget. Should get a used Peavey 5150 on craigslist. Also, don't get a peavey valveking 112 if you do metal.
Quote by life_777
I suggest you save money for a high gain amp in that budget. Should get a used Peavey 5150 on craigslist. Also, don't get a peavey valveking 112 if you do metal.

Agreed I dislike the vk.
i heard the 5150 can only do distortion and its cleans are bad. I want good cleans too and im thinking mayby getting a good clean amp and then with a really nice distortion pedal getting my rock tones.
Quote by Shecter78787
i heard the 5150 can only do distortion and its cleans are bad. I want good cleans too and im thinking mayby getting a good clean amp and then with a really nice distortion pedal getting my rock tones.

If you want nice cleans don't get a 5150. If you want modern metal tone out of the box don't get a Valveking.

I recommend a Peavey Classic 30 + an overdrive pedal... it's got nice cleans and the overdrive pedal will push it into metal territory.
Quote by DeathByDestroyr
What the hell is a G&L.

Quote by Flux'D
Gay & Lesbian I think, the box smelled funny
Greg what did you send me??
Quote by Raijouta

I recommend a Peavey Classic 30 + an overdrive pedal... it's got nice cleans and the overdrive pedal will push it into metal territory.

^That is a solid rec.