Carcassi
Sar
Giuliani
Aguado
Carruli
Tarrega
Villa Lobos

Two pieces, they need to contrast please please help me

thanks to everyone who helped me in my last post : )
Jackson Pc-1
Line 6 Spider III HD 150

I am new to recording, any tips and suggestions are well appreciated check my profile for my original compositions.
V Lobos will contrast stylistically with all the others.
Tarrega too.
Be careful if you choose two from Aguado, Sor, Carcassi and Carulli as they are all late classical/early romantic composers, so if chosen you'd need to make sure the pieces contrasted in form etc.

But really, if you need such advice you probably aren't ready to do the works justice in any event. I'm late to the thread/situation, but who is asking you to perform works about which you know next to nothing? IMO it's not a responsible position for any educator to put you in.
Actually, in terms of the works being studies all you might have to do is find two that address different technical issues. The choice ought then to be reasonably obvious.

If unfamiliar with the composers etc I'd advise choosing one from Opus 60 by Carcassi. Those pieces are usefull bridge from intermediate levels to beginning of advanced technique.

The V Lobos studies require advanced understanding.

Tarrega also intermediate advanced. He didn't write a method as such, but wrote teaching material tailored for individual pupils.

Sor can range from novice to very advanced. Fantastic resource if used properly

Aguado similar range of levels to Sor but using very different approach to technique.

Carulli "studies" generally beginner to intermediate.

Giulliani educational stuff generally in intermediate range.
Last edited by R.Christie at Oct 15, 2008,
Quote by R.Christie
V Lobos will contrast stylistically with all the others.
Tarrega too.