I would like to buy a solid-body electric guitar, and am looking to spend around $200. Right now I just have a old vox guitar that I have been learning on for about a year, and now that I can play pretty decently, I would like to get a real guitar.

I would be playing hard rock in general, stuff from bands like Godsmack, Saosin, Killswitch Engage, Breaking Benjamin, etc. Ideally, I'd like to sound like a cheaper version of the lead guitars from Saosin and Killswitch Engage. I like the crunch that you get from palm muting, would like to have a decent amount of sustain, and something that isn't real hard to do pinch harmonics on. I am playing on a Peavy Transtube 258 EFX and am looking at getting a good distortion pedal for it. I am a drummer first and a guitarist second, so I'm just looking for something I can practice on and play along to songs with.

I have been looking at the ESP EC-50. It has two humbuckers and can handle lower tunings (from what I've read), and you can adjust each pickup separately, which is something I want. Aside from that, I haven't really seen anything that has those specs, but I will be going to a few music stores this weekend. Any recommendations?
Last edited by lpdrummer at Oct 15, 2008,
Honestly, I would suggest you save some more money and get expand your budget a bit. If you're looking for a "real guitar" you should probably be willing to spend at least $4-500. The only guitar you will be able to get for $200 will be equal in quality or worse than what you already have.

Seriously, I'm not bashing you in any way, just wait for a couple more weeks and get some more cash in your guitar fund. Even a really shitty job can get you a hundred bucks a week.
\,,/_[><]_\,,/