Page 1 of 2
I've been thinking alot about this lately and I was just wondering if i was alone.
Before I started playing guitar I liked alot of rap, hardcore metal songs, And I absolutely hated acoustic songs.
But about a month after I started to seriously get into playing this all changed. I started listening to Led Zeppelin and alot of classic rock. Acoustic just sounded amazing to me. I started to admire guitar solos, and all the skill it took to play them. It didnt sound like a bunch of noise anymore, it was alot like art and all the creativity involved amazed me.
How did your views on music change after you seriously got into guitar?
happened to me in a different way, used to basically just like punk, but now i mainly listen to stuff with good/hard guitar parts in it, and metal.

My view on rap didnt change though, it will always be shit
Not until I'd been playing about a year and a half. I found the songs I was playing (Blink-182, almost exclusively) way too easy, so I watched Paul Gilbert play. My life changed that day, and I'll never be satisfied with my playing again.
Jackson Kelly KE3 w/P-Rails; Aria Pro II TSB-350
• ZVex Fuzz Factory; DigiTech Whammy; Danelectro Fish & Chips; Marshall ED1; Fulltone OCD; DigiTech Whammy; Marshall JMP1; Boss CE3; Vox AC4TV

EMU 0404; Reason/Record; M-Audio AV40
Quote by muhat gandy
happened to me in a different way, used to basically just like punk, but now i mainly listen to stuff with good/hard guitar parts in it, and metal.

Actually, there is some great rap out there, it's just buried underneath the 99.8% that is absolute crap.
Yeah, playing an instrument made me appreciate a wider range of music. I used to not like country but now I love it. Learning more about music in general, music appreciation, musicianship, theory, composition exposed me to multitudes of genres. Jazz, world, gamelan, indian tabla music for examples.