I'm new to the musician thread with a question.

What is a fun and interesting but effective way to learn how to read music?

I play bass by the way and thanks for the help
There is no way
If you think of one, let me know
Well...
( Bass Clef )
The lines are G B D F A
Like Good Boys Deserve Fudge Always
And the spaces are A C E G
All Cows Eat Grass
Rhymes are always fun and helpful

Another way is converting it all to tabs. That's what I might do
Quote by MissOblivious9
There is no way ....

Another way is converting it all to tabs. That's what I might do

exactly..

you may want to find a standard notation book for a band/album that you like/know

reading the notes as you hear/play them may be a real help for you...

we all learn differently... find what works for you
Quote by King Twili
It's just me and Doris here ;_;

Quote by Zaphikh
Poops is the chat MC - but here we know him as Early Cuyler.

Free Downloads, Yo!
Reading music is difficult at first, but once you learn it it can be better than tab in many situations. I was tought in band class at school since fifth grade. Sorry i don't really have much advice on how to learn, but it's definately worth your time!
Maybe if you got a teacher... He/She could show you a cool song and you both can figure out how to read it, with most of the effort coming from you ('cause I'll doubt a teacher would not know how to read music... K maybe...).
If you play guitar, please don't waste your time in The Pit, and please instead educate yourself in the Musician Talk forum, where you can be missing out on valuable info.
Quote by DiminishedFifth
It's like you read my mind!

I got meself a self-approving sig. Kick. Ass.
Take simple songs and play them. It's all about practice, really. Just like anything else.