I recently picked up the acoustic guitar and I was wondering how I should go about learning it? I've played the piano for a long time already so I know basic music theory. Should I purchase guitar books? If so, which ones are good for beginners?

What should I work on first?
If you're happy learning off YouTube videos or UG lessons, then purchasing books isn't really necessary, as there's everything you need online for free, although video lessons are often very helpful.

I am probably the laziest person I know when it comes to practicing; I've been playing for almost four years and I play like a "freshman" guitarist... I've put in probably a total of one month's practice in those four years.

But the first things you should focus on is your picking technique, your fretting hand technique (making sure you grip the fretboard correctly), muscle and finger exercises and the basic open chord shapes.

As you already know music theory, all you need to do is apply it to your guitar playing. Keep up the practice, constantly learning all the chord shapes until you know them all, develop your picking and fretting techniques.
I dont know about books for acoustic guitar but heres some info for books in general.

If you have the money buy a book for newbies. Look for books that teach basic technique and notation. Youtube also has a lot of helpful stuff and UG has a section for lessons.

I used to get guitar lessons. It depends entirely on your teacher but my teacher wasn't all that helpful. Sure he helped me to learn lots of basic theory, techniques and playing styles but after a while i was just learning the same damn thing each lesson. If you going to get lessons ask around first and ask their students about what their teacher is like.
Last edited by Final !mpact at Oct 17, 2008,
Quote by Ezuma