right ive done a few threads like this, basically i need proper guidance on this because im taking my guitar skills to the next level since i have been playing for 4 years. how do i set up my epiphone les paul so that i can fret the strings really easily without killing my fingers. i need to do it so that i have no buzzing aswell. i have just bought the best strings ive ever bought and these are elixir strings that have those plastic coating on it.

thanks in advance
If your still huting your fingers fretting after 4 years of playing, I'd say some technique is wrong.
If you have a tune-o-matic bridge you can just turn the screw typed things on the saddle to lower the action.
Quote by JackalUK
If your still huting your fingers fretting after 4 years of playing, I'd say some technique is wrong.

well i have to say my timing isnt amazing and i am very heavy handed ie i do press down really hard but how do i get out of that?
if you want to remove buzzing, it is not just because of action. it could be the frets, the nut , the neck or the birdge. 4 years and your fingers still hurt? you have a problem there. maybe you're fretting too hard.
Ibanez RG321MH (Air Classic/Tone Zone)
Fernandes Telecaster (Twang King/stock bridge pickup)
Blackstar HT-20 (Scumback 55 speaker/ Tung Sol tubes)
TC Electronic Nova Repeater
Lava Cables Clear Connect, Soar and Mini ELC
Quote by leviticus_22953
if you want to remove buzzing, it is not just because of action. it could be the frets, the nut , the neck or the birdge. 4 years and your fingers still hurt? you have a problem there. maybe you're fretting too hard.

well thats the thing i get really frustrated cos i cant play as fast i can on my lesbo paul and i am heavy handed but how do i "grow out of that"
Quote by gooooog
well thats the thing i get really frustrated cos i cant play as fast i can on my lesbo paul and i am heavy handed but how do i "grow out of that"

have you used a metronome? a very useful gadget.
Quote by gooooog