Hey UG, I just recently started taking lessons to learn theory. I have played off and on since I was a freshman in high school. I actually found a teacher that doesn't just teach me songs at my lessons and understands that I want to learn the 'science' behind everything. I am pretty good at technique (alternate picking, can play a bunch of metal songs, and can sweep a little) the only problem is my understanding of the fundamentals behind all this is shit. I really don't understand music theory at all! In my first lesson I learned the E major and Em notes on all the strings. At my second lesson I was showed the G major and G minor scales all over the fretboard. So right now I am working on remembering all these positions/patterns and I was wondering if you guys new some songs I could just shred these two scales over. I don't care what genre the song is. Also If anyone out there recalls being in the same situation I am in and could offer some knowledge/advice, that would kick ass. I checked out that music theory lesson that girl has in her signature but it's kind of beyond me. I need a very SLOW explanation of how the hell this works. I think if I could find a song or two I could practice those two scales over it would help me astronomically. Thanks a ton in advance guys/girls!!!!
I'm just starting to get into theory too, and I got a book called "Guitar Fretboard Workbook" by Barrett Tagliarino.

It has a lot of interactive things with writing things down to help you retain it. It goes over major and minor scales, intervals, triads, etc. Just about everything you can imagine is in this book. I'd highly recommend getting it.
Cool I have Troy Stetina's Fretboard Mastery. I do a lot of exercises in it to build up my technique. I'll have to check that one out. Any advise on songs I can play those two scales over?
Quote by razorback84
I checked out that music theory lesson that girl has in her signature but it's kind of beyond me.