Ok, homework time!

So, I have some chemistry homework. I know the formula for finding halflife decay is Y=A(1/2)^T/h

Where Y is the end amount, A is the starting amount, T is the time its been decaying, and H is the halflife.

What I need is a formula to find the actual halflife given the Starting and Ending amounts, and the time its been sitting.

thanks in advance.
Founder of UG's David Bowie Fan Club. Pm to join.

Founder of UG's "Rockers against being freakishly skinny" Club. PM to join.
I knew I was going to get a halflife joke, but seriously, I need an answer here.

Y=A(1/2)^T/h into H=A(1/2)^T/Y?

EDIT: or not, just tested that

Last edited by zekk at Oct 17, 2008,
Quote by soulflyV
Re-arrange the equation, foo'.

'tis a hard equation to rearrange tho. i think it involves the natural logarithm of 2 tho....
Quote by Psychaberration
'tis a hard equation to rearrange tho. i think it involves the natural logarithm of 2 tho....

Uhh... I'm a sophomore in algebra 2, buddy. Getting a little ahead of where I am. I guess I could plug my givens into the equation and solve from there, but that leaves me with Time/Halflife as an exponent, and since I dont have the halflife, I'm stuck there.

{Like is i have 8grams of Cobalt-60, and over 10.5 years it reduces to 2grams, the equation I'm thinking of would be 2g=8g(1/2)^10.5/H Which leaves me stuck at 1g=8g^(10.5/H) which I'm not intierly sure is right because I'm guessing at math I've never done before)

i thought it was about the game

i cant wait til episode 3 comes out

you tricked me

*leaves thread crying*
Quote by jsbud11
Dude your leetness is maximum.
Seriously if you leave UG without becoming a mod, I will kill someone.
Quote by Devopast
This is turning into fap-to-amazingfretman's-love-a-thon
Quote by romanqwerty
Y=A(1/2)^(T/h)
Y/A = (1/2)^(T/h)

Y/A = 2^(-T/h)

log(base 2) (Y/A) = -T/h

there you go