I have been playing for about 9 months and I am overwhelmed with all this theory.

I just want to know what is really necessary and will be useful.

I haven't learned all the notes on the fretboard but I know how to find them. I know what steps are, the major scale, all the minor scales(natural, harmonic melodic). I think I know the concept of the Circle of 5ths, and I know about triads and how to build chords.

If somebody could point me in the right direction that would be great.
the thing i find particularity useful is that when im learning a song i can pick apart the song and understand the music much better than i would without it
Basically, learn as much theory as you can. There are a few things that you'll learn that gets you to the next level in your playing ability. That one is absolutely crucial.
you will do better based on how much theory you know. the more you know the more you can do with music. and you can look really smart when you know theory.
Quote by RounderIII
I have been playing for about 9 months and I am overwhelmed with all this theory.

I just want to know what is really necessary and will be useful.

I haven't learned all the notes on the fretboard but I know how to find them. I know what steps are, the major scale, all the minor scales(natural, harmonic melodic). I think I know the concept of the Circle of 5ths, and I know about triads and how to build chords.

If somebody could point me in the right direction that would be great.

there is no particular amount that is "necessary". Learn as much as you want/have time to. Learn at a pace that makes sense to you. Most importantly... enjoy the process of learning it.
shred is gaudy music
if your gonna compose your own music you should learn it if you jsut wanna jam then probably none
Quote by Stress Cow
You know you're fucked up when the pit thinks you're a sick bastard.