ive been playing like 6 months on an acoustic need an elecric. im mainly a punk guitarist. Im looking on buying an ibanez rg and want to kno a cheap, good amp to get. any tips?
i don't know what specific amp you should get, but mainly just two suggestions

1. don't get a line 6 spider III amp no matter how tempted, they are pieces of crap targeted towards newbie guitar players. This is because they look all good because they have all of the presets and stuff, but any amp can do that stuff and better, all it has a presets for gain.

2. get a 30 watt. This is basically because it is more than a 15 watt which most starter amps are, so if you plan on jamming with a friend you can be audible. afterall, most of the fun is playing with someone else
My Guitars:
Gibson Les Paul Studio
Epiphone AJ
Ibanez Strat Copy

Amps:
Orange Tiny Terror Head
Old beaten up Peavey cab
Marshall MG30DFX
On 200-300 bucks?

WAIT.

Don't even bother buying something at this point, you're not going to get anything even half decent. If you wait and save up...say 500-600 dollars, you'll be able to get something at least acceptable. It won't be a great guitar/amp combo, but better than what you can get on the kind of budget you're suggesting.
Oh no he just divided by zero again...*gets sucked into vortex*

Originally Posted by Sirwinston89
whoa man this is turning into the Dream Theater appreciation thread!!! If only every thread kicked this much ass!

You're welcome
Buy one at a local pawn shop. Try it out. I saw a Marshall half stack for $300, and it worked like it was new. The one I have right now is a Fender Performer 100 watt tube amp for $100. OK so they may be hot but who cares???
Get a Crate V18 or V33-212. They're tube amps, they sound pretty good stock, and with the right mods, they'll sound great.

It'll more than likely keep you happy with it until you save up the bank to swap out the stock speakers for greenbacks or v30's, something alone that line.