Not sure if this goes in bandleading or not, so pardon me if this is iffy...

So, a few friends and I have organized a band. The drummer, keyboardist, and lead guitarist have all been playing for more than three years. I have been playing for 10 months but keep up with them anyway. (Extreme practice, FTW ) Anyhow, we were left bassist-less for a while, as the only bassist we knew of was tied up in another band.

Our keyboardist talked to a mutual friend, and found it he was, in fact, a bassist. Since there was no other person we knew that owned a bass (why must you bassists be so rare, why?!!) we asked him to join.

First time we all get together to jam, we find out he literally knows NOTHING about playing his instrument. And I don't mean "nothing" like, "Wait, we're playing in the Augmented Mixolydian Mode with a flat third? Whazzat?", I mean "nothing" as in he came with his bass tuned 2 and 1/2 steps higher than standard.

So, basically, now we have to train him in the art of bass. I already directed him to some basic instructional vids and told him to practice keeping time religiously. Other than this, what should he be learning to be an efficient bassist? We're not too concerned about him learning theory, as our leads and keyboards are both *very* well versed in that.

Thanks.
The best thing is to get him a teacher, but why not direct him here?
Fler Ismaskiner!
Quote by 022044
(Extreme practice, FTW )

Perhaps it might work for him?
Notes on the fretboard would be another big thing to teach him, save you time.
♪♫♪
92% percent of the teen population would be dead if Hollywood said it wasn't cool to breathe anymore.
Put this in your signature if you are one of the 92% who wouldn't be breathing.
Quote by FFTLxx
Perhaps it might work for him?
Notes on the fretboard would be another big thing to teacher him, save you time.

Did this, too. One of the first things we went over.
just laugh at him for being a bassist that he couldn't learn a proper instrument.