Page 1 of 3
I've been playing guitar for a little over a year, but I only took lessons for the first 2 months. I hadn't learned anything useful, so I stopped taking lessons. I improved quickly with a lot of practice on my own, but I get confused trying to learn how guitarists do certain riffs and solos. Is it all practice, or is learning specific techniques from a teacher more (or at least similarly) important?
Depends.

Id say if you want a career in music, take lessons. Period. Forget that bullshit about "zomg, hendrix was self taught lololol." A teacher is infinitely useful if you have a desire to learn.

If your just interested in playing some songs with CDs, self taught is prolly fine
lessons aren't necessary by any means. you can do just fine without them. if you take them, though, it really helps to have somebody there to guide your progress, to give you advice on what to work on, to correct things you're doing wrong, etc. they aren't a necessity, but they're damn useful.
Quote by xATRx
I've been playing guitar for a little over a year, but I only took lessons for the first 2 months. I hadn't learned anything useful, so I stopped taking lessons. I improved quickly with a lot of practice on my own, but I get confused trying to learn how guitarists do certain riffs and solos. Is it all practice, or is learning specific techniques from a teacher more (or at least similarly) important?

Lessons with a good teacher can be very helpful. That being said, there are many paths to success, no one but you can choose yours.
shred is gaudy music
Quote by SlashYourFug
lessons aren't necessary by any means. you can do just fine without them. if you take them, though, it really helps to have somebody there to guide your progress, to give you advice on what to work on, to correct things you're doing wrong, etc. they aren't a necessity, but they're damn useful.

Depends what you mean by just fine