I was wondering if anyone's documented trying to make their own. I have a terrible ear and my guitar turner only tunes to standard tuning, So I was wondering if anyone knows anyone who's tried to make their own. I'd have to imagine it would need stepper motors (or servos) to move the tuning pegs, and be wired internally to "hear" the sound off the pickups, and adjust however.

I'm an EE noob, and yeah. I thought this would be interesting, and I'm curious if I could get some schematics/code from someone who's done it already.

OR

someone can teach me how to tune to different tunings from standard.
(1/2 step down, Drop D, drop C, or that tuning for Kashmir are the tunings I want to learn how to use)
Drop D is easy... just tune your low E string down until it's the same note (different octave, obviously) as your D string... you pluck a harmonic and compare it to the sound of the harmonic on the D string. Typically you can hear the differences in the sound waves because the more out of tune it is the more you'll hear the note "flutter"

the robot guitar idea, while novel, would probably cost way more than you'd want to spend.

do you have a microphone input on your sound card? there are guitar tuner plugins available for your computer...
Support your local luthier!

Timpson Guitars and TDM Pickups rock ;D

I make guitars and pickups. I also make sh*t that'll blow you the f*k up as well as things that will rebuild you - I have the technology
i just de-tune my E string whilst hitting whilst hold 5th fret on the A string, thats a D.

I find it better to do that rarther open D.

But now i can just detune hitting EAD all together till i get DAD, just experience.
yeah... and personally, i think robot guitars are retarded. People are just getting lazy. And while if you did have a circuit attached to the pickups, it would probably be easier to base it off of one of the tuner circuits that tube by the vibrations
-------------------------------