After reading quite a few threads on here I have a feeling I already know where the public majority will be on this, but it's always good to get unbiased opinions from the masses!

With regard to a starter amp I think you're all going to shout Roland Micro Cube at me.

Have also seen a couple by Randall:

KH15 (what can I say, I'm a metallica fan!)

and

RX15M (bottom of page)

Any thoughts on these? They seem identical apart from 'player branding'.
Quote by THEKID546
whats your budget and what kind of metal

I'm a complete novice just starting out, so while budget isn't really an issue, I don't want to spend a lot of money that might end up being wasted in the long run. Pretty much looking for something that's not crap to get me started really, hence the sub £100 suggestions in my opening post.

Oh, and I've got to learn totally from scratch so I don't think I'm ready to specify what type of metal I'm going to play!
just buy any amp to start off with. once you figure out what you want to play you can come back on here and ask for suggestions, but if you're starting from scratch any amp will do.
If you're in the UK, I have a small, 15 w solid state crate amp I'd be looking to sell. It comes with a lot of built in effects like delay, reverb etc. It has a clean and a lead channel, though I recommend getting a dist. pedal.
Thanks for the replies guys but my opening question still remains unanswered. Just curious to know if either of the Randall amps are any good?

Quote by SlappyMcLardfat
just buy any amp to start off with. once you figure out what you want to play you can come back on here and ask for suggestions, but if you're starting from scratch any amp will do.

Ordinarily that would be my thoughts but I've read so many posts saying that the amp is more important to the sound (admittedly not much of a sound!) than the guitar itself, which kinda goes against what you are saying (or am I reading it wrong )